Honda CBR 500 Riders Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everybody, so I've been riding my cbr125 for 2 years and have 4500km under my belt (80% city, 20% highway). I'm looking to upgrade to a bigger bike for reasons that are still unknown to me, to be honest. I'm a short rider 5'5 150 pounds and I am completly comfortable and in control with my 125. I can put both feet on the ground no problem, although I hardly do, but it's a reassurance to know I can in case I lose my footing to gravel at a stop or whatever.

So the plan is either getting the cbr250 or the cb500f. The dilemma is that I don't wanna have to re-enter negotiations with a dealer if I get the 250 and find out it's still underpowered and then upgrade to the 500f. I do want to have the same comfortability as my 125 in terms of seat height and dimensions at the width. So my question is, is upgrading from a 125 to 250 pointless because its essentially the same thing? Should I jump straight to the 500f? Are the seat heights similar to the 125? Any suggestions would be awesome, because I'm riding in the dark, so to speak, since I'm the only motorcycle rider in my entire family.

Also I really hate how short the 1st gear is on my 125 so I was wondering if it be the same thing on the 250 and 500f?

Thanks!
And sorry my post is so long!

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I forgot to mention that I'd still be doing 80%city, 20%highway, with the occasional (once or twice a season) trip up north where the roads are nice and curvy. Also this will probably be a 5 year or more bike so I'm in it for the long haul lol :)

·
Registered
1,108 Posts