Honda CBR 500 Riders Forum banner

Sprocket and Chain Replacement

2K views 4 replies 5 participants last post by  Kabluey 
#1 ·
Hello all! I’ve been searching the forums but haven’t found anything useful. Any recommendations on a chain and sprocket combo/set or a specific chain and specific front and rear sprocket for my 2015 non-abs if that matters? I’m a newbie and have been told by multiple people I should change the sprocket and chain based on the noise it’s making.

#2 ·
My recommendation on sizes is to always stay with Honda's OEM specs. But others will offer reasons why not to.
Not to sound cantankerous, but replacing the sprockets and chain based on 'sound' is akin to changing your skivvies when they look 'dirty'. Both are too subjective with little to base an opinion on.
If the sprockets are rounded or wearing uneven at the points or valleys, or the chain is binding at any of the links after cleaning and lubricating it, or at its maximum specs when properly adjusted... it's probably time to replace them.
They recommend replacing both front and rear sprockets along with the chain.
There are plenty of videos available that show how to inspect and replace sprockets and chains. Like the one below.
Everything You Need To Know When Replacing Your Motorcycle’s Chain and Sprockets | The Shop Manual - Bing video

#3 ·
The front (small) sprocket spins almost 3 times more than the rear; and gets a lot more force (per teeth) in contact with the chain. It will wear 3 times faster (at least). For this reason, always replace the front sprocket with a new chain (or the new chain will quickly wear to match the state of the old sprocket). The front (small) sprocket is relatively cheap anyway; no reason not to replace it.

For the rear, inspect and make a judgement call. But I think initially, you can get away with it; or just flip it around.