Honda CBR 500 Riders Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So here recently i have ran into a couple of videos on youtube regarding lanesplitting and it got me wondering being a parallel-twin 500cc engine will the cbr500r have the power and agility to maneuver safely and effectivly??? I have never had a street bike. I am 20yrs old,and 150lbs. I have plenty of experience riding atvs and mx bikes. And i am a true die-hard honda enthusiast and I dont want to start on a 250cc ,cause I fear I will get tired of it easily.

·
Premium Member
1,158 Posts
If this is your first motorcycle (mx bikes is a tad vague) I'd seriously recommend that you get a used but fairly new 250 cc bike to start with. Do your learning on it and you'll be able to sell it for nearly what you paid for it. One normally has a few "oopsies" learning to ride.

I'd normally recommend a motorcycle basic rider's course too, to reduce the probability of a road accident in the first 6 months and to provide a good "minimal skills" base.

Just the opinion of an old guy, still riding in his 70's. ;)

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
If this is your first motorcycle (mx bikes is a tad vague) I'd seriously recommend that you get a used but fairly new 250 cc bike to start with. Do your learning on it and you'll be able to sell it for nearly what you paid for it. One normally has a few "oopsies" learning to ride.

I'd normally recommend a motorcycle basic rider's course too, to reduce the probability of a road accident in the first 6 months and to provide a good "minimal skills" base.

Just the opinion of an old guy, still riding in his 70's. ;)