Honda CBR 500 Riders Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey All,

Just got my renewal papers in the mail for this year and I figured if there are any other riders in Ontario we could have a thread that easily compares. I've searched high and low for a better rate but haven't had any luck. I have a 2013 CB500FA, mid 20's and Ive had my M rating for almost 3 years now. Currently paying 881 a year for full comprehensive with 500 deductible.

· Registered
7 Posts
Wow where do you guys live and who are the providers?
I am getting robbed with StateFarm @ $350/month in Brampton. I'm 24 and had my G1, G2 and G as soon as I was eligible for each stage, no tickets or accidents either.
This is my first year riding however. My renewal is coming up in April so I will be shopping around.

· Registered
2017 Aprilia Tuono V4 1100 Factory
1,278 Posts
I was looking over my policy today. I'm paying quite a bit I believe because I carry a fair amount of coverage.

I'm 47, married, have three cars and our house and all its contents with the same company. We live just outside the GTA. No at fault claims in 32 years of driving but I've only been insured on a bike since August of this year (Aug-Nov on the CBR, the FZ8 since then.)

I have the usual liability, uninsured auto, direct comp (property damage), comprehensive and collision and "family protection". Those would amount to roughly $270/yr.

I also have so-called "accident benefits" which cover a ton of things including income replacement, caregiver, housekeeping, home maintenance, medical and rehab, attendant care etc etc. This adds a substantial $555 to my annual bill.

I'm on a bike and know that an "incident" could be life altering. I have responsibilities to my wife and family and so being well-covered in the event of a crash is the right thing to do.