Honda CBR 500 Riders Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I present to the group one Seriously Naked 381 lbs 2017 CB500F. It's only goal is to keep its new 70-year old owner happy riding the twisty back roads of PA. I started riding dirt when I was 14 and spent many years riding Motocross, Flat Track, Enduros, etc. So for my 1st street bike, I bought the 500 for its lightweight and moderate power and the fun began. Day one it went on a strict diet and the parts went flying!

After many mods and upgraded parts, I can say the 4 must-dos to these bikes are
  • Better tires, I chose the Metzler M9's for their dual-compound construction.
  • Stainless Steel Braided Brake Lines with EBC pads.
  • GSXR 600 fully adjustable rear shock, got a new one from eBay for $40.
  • RaceTech .80 straight fork springs replacing the .65 progressive stock springs.
After losing 30 pounds, adding stickier tires, upgraded brakes, and a dialed-in suspension this bike feels nothing like the bike I started with. It corners so much more precise and confident inspiring, brakes cut stopping distance and with a much better feel. Going from a pretty crappy suspension to just a mild upgrade made this bike behave so much better in every aspect of the ride, braking, cornering, and comfort.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Nice looking bike, very different! Hope I'm, still riding at 70. Looks like you are not afraid to lean it in the corners based on the rear tire chicken strips. How hard was it to install the rear shock, did you have to cut anything to make room for the reservoir?

·
Registered
318 Posts
Great looking bike. Suspension makes such a large difference on this bike. Had a similar setup on my ‘13 F, (Traxxion Dynamics fork kit and GSXR-750 rear shock), and it was the best mod I made on that bike.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4