Honda CBR 500 Riders Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, name's O (central NJ).

First off, delete if thread not allowed here. I have never used forums before.

I bought my first bike yesterday from my best friend, a 2014 CBR500R w/ ABS in black (601 miles). Currently waiting on a HotBodies flush-mounted turn signal kit, DanMoto XG-1 slip-on w/ "mid pipe", and an OEM passenger seat delete cowl.

Gear wise I got a helmet, jacket, gloves. Should I wear ear plugs once the XG-1 goes on? or is the helmet's padding enough?

I'm looking forward to learning a lot about the bike, so if anyone has the same bike please feel free to add me on instagram @onisealavidze . I would love to have people I can reach out to and exchange knowledge with.

Thanks for the add.

·
Registered
225 Posts
Welcome.

The reason to use ear plugs when riding is because of wind noise. Once you get up to speed you might not even be able to hear the bike over it.

Personally I always wear earplugs, but I wear a flip helmet so it has poorer sound isolation than a full face one. Aside from protecting my hearing, it is just a lot more comfortable riding with that constant noise toned down. It also makes it easier to hear other noises, likes sirens and horns.

I would say just go out and ride on a fast road, then you will quickly know the answer. Take some cheap foam plugs in case you need them. You can invest in better ones later if necessary, and keep the foam ones in a pocket or under the rear seat as a backup.

Also, for gear make sure you have protective pants too. I do wear thick jeans when riding around town where the limit is 30 mph at most, but even that is a blanked risk. If the worst does happen and you end up sliding along the road then ordinary jeans will do nothing to protect your legs.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Welcome.