Honda CBR 500 Riders Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Instrument cluster on the CBR500 is digital. I know some people rather have analog over digital and vise-versa, but what do you guys prefer....

Digital Instrument Cluster?

or

Analog Instrument Cluster?

CBR500 Digital Instrument Cluster:

·
Registered
40 Posts
I know riding a motorcycle is supposed to be about "how to get around with the bare minimum" but I'm a big tech guy. So I would prefer a well laid out digital dash to any analog dash instruments.

It's quicker to look down and see "72" on the speedometer than it is to look down and see a hand between 70 and 75 on the analog speedometer and have to mentally make the estimation of speed in your head while trying to remain safe in traffic.

For me, my ideal bike dash would have a digital tach, speedometer, fuel gague, tire pressure monitor, and have a small screen that would be blue tooth compatible and show just the arrow's and mileage to destination from my cellphones google maps/navigation system. But from what I can tell I'm not your average motorcycle rider. :D

·
Registered
1,257 Posts
Speedo: either is okay, maybe digital preferred to get an exact number.

Tacho: definitely analogue. Nothing is easier to glance down and see than a needle inside a dial. Dont need to look at the number, just what "o'clock" it is at :) as opposed "how far along that straight bit is it????"

Fuel and temp: whatever ;-)

Dave

·
Premium Member
272 Posts
The digital is the better featured option but I can't help but think it will fail one day. The analog cluster will likely last longer.

·
Registered
40 Posts
The only time digital electronic anything goes belly up is when it is exposed to water/electric damage. I suppose that is more likely on a motorcycle than a car but as a general rule of thumb they'll work for many many years.