Honda CBR 500 Riders Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I found the forum during my daily ritual of scouring the internet for any information on these new 500's. I have been riding motorcycles ever since I was 14 years old and got my first bike ... A 1975 cb550 four! I have had a wide variety of bikes but in the last few years I have gone from a dl1000 V-strom, to the Honda 919, to the Kawasaki Versys 650 (which is a wonderful bike by the way).

Over the last 20 years, my perceptions of displacement have changed quite a bit and I am ready to come full-circle and own another half-litre motorcycle. Even though it is mostly being billed as a "starter bike", this engine size just seems really "honest" to me because it is not big just for the sake of being big and is just the right balance of power and light weight.

I am planning to pick up either a cb500f or a cb500x but I cant make up my mind. I went to the bike show yesterday but it wasnt a lot of help. The F looked better to me but the X fit better. The cb1100 is a true work of art but I cant justify the cost when I can get one of these 500's for half the price. One thing is certain, it has been many years since I was this excited about Honda's lineup.

I'm really looking forward to learning more about these 500's and in being apart of this forum as it grows.

Cheers,

Chad

·
Registered
33 Posts
Welcome Chad.

I'm assuming your from Canada, already knowing there's a bike show going on in Toronto.
If that's the show you went to, how was it?

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·