Honda CBR 500 Riders Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Aloha everyone, I recently noticed my left fork having some caked on oil. I've never seen anything on it and almost thought I rode through something.. Its pretty clear now that it's leaking and I've never worked on forks before. Looking at the fork diagram to order new seals I didn't really know exactly what I needed to order. Has anyone ordered new seals and have any recommendations?
2014 CB500F

·
Registered
1,696 Posts
Ooof. Yesterday went for a ride around town on vacation. Great ride, but after parking in the garage for 30 minutes I found a small puddle of oil dripping down my left fork... Looks like I have the same issue. I'm not mechanically inclined so I probably need a garage to do the work for me... Should I park it in the meantime?

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I have had my seal leaking oil for a while now and have kept riding it. Thats just me.. it's my daily commuter 3 days out of the week, but it's definitely not leaving puddles. I live on Maui so I only have 2 options of bike mechanics to do the work for me and I was quoted 500$ (that's with me bringing my own seals) and after watching videos I've decided I'm just going to do it myself so I'll update you on the process if I think there's anything that would help. FYI I ordered my fork seals, dust covers, and lower and upper bushings on Revzilla and they're OEM Honda parts 80$. If you aren't mechanically inclined I think you can still do this job by watching Youtube videos but if you have garages around that will offer reasonable price for the work (500$ seems ridiculous for the work involved) The Honda CB500F can be tricky to lift in order to do the work on the front end. I'm doing the forks this weekend. Wish me luck.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·