Honda CBR 500 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

Firstly I'm new to both motorcycle engines and wiring so please bear with me.

I'm working on a custom trike build and using a 2014 CBR500R engine. When buying the engine I was told it was a running engine with the starter motor still attached, I bought a wiring loom, CDI, regulator, coils, and battery for the engine as well as a new aftermarket key switch and engine start button. I worked through the wiring loom and found all the connections to the engine and everything is plugged in and connected. I have bypassed the clutch switch and the side stand switch as I don't need the side stand as its a trike and the chain isn't hooked up so not worried about starting it in gear and it running away from me.

checked all connectors, ground the loom to the frame and connected the battery, turned the key, pressed the button and nothing happened. I wanted to ask if there is something I'm missing or where a good place to start with regards to figuring out if I'm getting power to where I should be?

I haven't bought anything else such as the switched that go on the handlebars etc as I'm planning on running lights, horn, etc on a separate circuit.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks all

·
Registered
20 Posts
Let me first say that I'm no expert...I'm just trying to help troubleshoot this.

I don't see any mention of a cluster. When you turn the key, do you get any lights, or activity on a gauge cluster?

I remember once having an issue getting my bike to start because it wouldn't go into neutral. I don't recall if the kickstand was up or down at the time. I know you haven't got it all together with chain and wheels yet...but can you verify if it's in neutral?