Honda CBR 500 Riders Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey,
Just wanna say its my first time posting on this forum and Ive been riding a 2014 Honda CBR500R for about 7-8 months now (mostly stored during the winter). Last year when I got the bike, I changed both the front and the rear sprockets as well as the chain on the bike, did my oil change, flushed and replaced the radiator fluid and coolant, replaced the air filter with a K&N one, and did some cosmetic work on it. I wanted to take it a step further this summer and add additional mods on the bike as I do plan on keeping it for a few years before I decide to upgrade.

I'm going for a sportier feel as I dislike the upright seating position (I know that's what the bike is meant to do) and wanted to go about changing the rear seats, replacing the suspension, and adding clipons to the handle bars.

I needed a little help just figuring out what parts actually fit on the bike because I've been looking around and haven't had much luck.
1. Front handle bar clipons
2. Reatsets
3. Rear suspension
4. A fender Eliminator kit
5. Shorty levers

Thanks guys,

·
Super Moderator
1,278 Posts
Welcome to the forum, glad to hear you got the mod itch like many of us, haha!
Like with all mods there's a $ to $$$$ options, so will come down to how much you're willing to part with.

1. handlebars - 41mm clip-ons, dime-a-dozen cheapies on ebay, you may also look at brand names like and Vortex, Woodcraft. The zero rise will face issues with clearance, like you won't be able to go full lock-to-lock. 1" rise needs some finessing to work fully, though compromise is not an ideal wrist position. Ideally the clip-ons where the bar extends from the the centre of the fork tube are best for fit and comfort, though can be hard to find - you might extend your search range to other bikes with 41mm forks, like the f4i, yamaha R3, etc.