Honda CBR 500 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Registered
924 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys, I'm interested in buying a rear stand for my future CBR500R.

How can I install the needed Swingarm pick-up knobs onto the bike for the stand to clip on to?

And any advice on rear stands? Brands?

I'm new to bikes and the Honda will be my first. I have heard that having a rear stand is handy for home maintenance, oil changes, etc.

·
Registered
1,057 Posts
A rear stand will be helpful for chain maintenance and tire swaps, too.
Spools look cool, and they certainly make lifting quick, which is likely more important for those who must work on the bike often than it is for most of us typical riders. However, getting spools that fit can be a pain. For example, some of the ones that came out early for the CBR250R interfered with the ABS sensor, i think. also, the not-yet-available spools from R&G (which are known to make good stuff), while they won't interfere with the ABS sensor, look to be secured by the axle bolt. How would you remove the rear wheel with this on? There are rear stands that have inward-facing pegs that lift by contact with the underside of the swing arm. This can open up your options for which stand to get.
I have this one:
Pit Bull Motorcycle Stands & Accessories: Forward Handle Rear, Standard

These might be a little pricey, but the build quality is great.