Honda CBR 500 Riders Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. Just registered with this forum because im looking to buy a 2017 cbr500r with 7k miles and would like to know if there any specific things to ask about or look at. They want around 4k and Im new to street bikes but have worked on dirtbikes in the past. Any tips are appreciated.

·
Registered
77 Posts
Items to check are similar to dirt bikes.

These bikes have a modern engine computer and catalytic convertor. Providing the battery is charged, they start the instant the start button is pressed.
With the engine now running, the lights that should show on the dash (for US models) is the green neutral light and the ABS light (at least for 2015 ABS models). The ABS light should go off when the bike is ridden.

Check chain and rear sprocket teeth for wear.

At 7K miles the rear tire is probably almost worn out, with a big flat area where the crown of the tire tread once was.

Owners sometimes put a louder muffler on the bike. Easy to do.
But a few replace the exhaust pipe and catalytic convertor with a straight through set of pipes. This requires reprogramming the engine ECU or adding an outboard tuner ECU to run well. I would stay away from a bike with that modification - the dealer can't help you if it doesn't run right.

Good luck!

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I will keep those things in mind. Thanks!. The ABS is new to me but I think I'd like to have it. I'm also wondering about the suspension. I did alot of changes on suspension with my dirtbikes with sag and proper springs but don't really want to have bother with much of that anymore. My weight of 195 is hopefully in the ballpark of setup.

·
Registered
77 Posts