Honda CBR 500 Riders Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, Ive been looking around this forum for a couple weeks and decided to just make the account already. Im really new to motorcycles. Never ridden a sport bike before only a honda rebel that was used in my MSF course.

Im just really interested in the 500r and whenever i go to a honda dealership here in Fresno i cant help but get nervous about getting the cbr500r or a ninja 300. I know there is a 300vs500r comparison thread here and all over the web but i feel most are just biased people sticking to their brand.

Now, I got some questions about the 500r before i make the leap into motorcycle euphoria.

What is the actual HP of it in the US? Is it really still limited to the euro standards or is it uncapped to the engines full potential to more than 47 hp at the crank?

What makes wave style breaks on the cbr500 better?
Is the all digital display easy to get use to? ( i think i like the hybrid displays better but idk im a noob)
Can it go from 0-60 fairly easy compared to a 250 or 300?

Im gonna do a lot of commuting and city riding since this will be my main means of transportation, Is the "better low end torque" that ive heard about better for city?

Thanks a lot to whoever takes the time to help me. Im sorry for the essay im a writer and love soaking up new info.

·
Registered
111 Posts
Can't answer all your Q's but as for brakes my dealer commented that they are much bigger on the 500 compared too the ninja 300.
For city riding low end torque is gods gift, way less gear changing and the power is always there when zipping between cars and into little gaps in traffic, and when lane changing/overtaking.
After spending some time on a 500 I think that's it's main purpose is to be a great city bike, IMO.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·