Honda CBR 500 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
545 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just did my 5000 mile oil and filter change after turning 60,000 miles. I bought this bike with about 3,000 miles on it and have had zero problems with it.

I have been riding for 57 years and always do my own maintenance and tire changes. I have done two valve adjustment checks with no change in the clearances. I'm not going to do another until 70K as these valve systems seem quite stable. I'm on my third chain, and at the next tire change I'm going to replace the front and rear brake rotors as they are both getting near minimum thickness. I've replaced the rear pads once and the front twice. I change the oil and filter every 5,000 miles and use Chevron Delo 400LE 15W40 diesel oil and Purolator PL 14612 filters. The bike does not need any oil added between changes.

I've gone through numerous front and rear tires, generally getting around 10K to 15K miles on the front and around 8K on the rear, although I sometimes change early so I can get through a trip without needing a new tire, and then I put the takeoff back on later. I mostly buy Shinko Raven 009 in stock sizes from Revzilla. They are cheap and work fine.

The air filter is a K&N that I installed at 10K miles and cleaned and re-oiled at 50K. A few aftermarket parts that I have installed are a gear indicator, a center stand, a voltage gauge, Oxford heated grips, and a Garmin Zumo 220 gps mount and wiring. I also have a hookup for my Gerbing heated vest. The alternator on these bikes puts out an impressive 500 watts, so I have had no problem with powering these accessories. When I go on multi day tours I install my Givi luggage racks and side cases plus a tail bag and tank bag.

I am pretty impressed with the quality of this bike and the fit and finish of the fairings, although they can be pretty fiddley to remove and replace