Honda CBR 500 Riders Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey All,
Hoping to get some advice regarding my headlight. I feel it's great on full beam but woefully dim on dipped. Not sure if I should go for simple bright bulb, upgrade to led or install extra lights. Your suggestions would be appreciated (nothing too complex, I'm new to wrenching and I've not done any electricals yet).
Cheers...

·
Registered
361 Posts
Welcome to the Forum. I'd suggest starting by checking the alignment of the light to be sure it's aiming out properly. A small variation can throw the light too low, or high, and throw a beam where it needs not be. Here's a how-to video worth looking through. If that's not enough for you.. Then go looking for alternative lamps.
How To Aim Your Headlight | Motorcyclist (motorcyclistonline.com)

·
Registered
491 Posts
Beam pattern is part of the MOT, and if wrong the testers will usually adjust it if they can rather than fail you. So it never hurts to check, but it seems unlikely.

Unfortunately I have the 2016 model with the LED headlamp so cannot be of much help. Much like my headlamp, at night I just keep it on full beam without it bothering anyone and avoid unlit roads.

But if it were me, I would try replacing the better bulb with a better one first, as it is the simplest and cheapest option, before considering new lights entirely. Particularly if you are happy with the full beam.

·
Registered
98 Posts
If you want a brighter beam after aligning and putting in a $6 replacement bulb, check out Philips X-treme +100 bulbs. These claim to double the light down the road. I use them in my car and it is brighter on low beam.

The tradeoff is that they only last 300 hours instead of the 1000 hours of an ordinary halogen bulb. And our bikes run the headlight whenever the ignition is on.
Philips offers even brighter 55W bulbs (+150 series) but these almost certainly last an even shorter time, just how halogens work.