Honda CBR 500 Riders Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright guys this one should be easy. I passed the 1200 mark. I would like to take it to a professional to do the maintenance I want to make sure everything is fine since I'm new with motorcycles. how much have you paid? What do they do at 1200? if you live in northern VA can recomend a place to take it I would really appreciate that. thanks fellas.

·
Registered
1,156 Posts
I know you said you want to take it to a professional, but I would strongly encourage you to DIY. I would say that being new to motorcycling is the best reason to do your maintenance yourself. Download the service manual, get yourself some paddock stands, a metric socket and hex key set, a torque wrench and get intimate with your bike. You have a whole community here to support you through really simple things like first servicing and add ons to more intermediate things like comfort and performance mods and even complex things like fork servicing and valve adjustments. If you're passionate enough about motorcycling to buy a bike, then I'd say explore that passion. Plus you save money. I've personally saved more money servicing my 500 myself than I paid for it. The fact that you're asking how much your first service will cost tells me that your money is important to you. That said, mechanics generally charge $100-$150 per hour plus shop fees for any type of servicing. If they know you're new they'll probably tack on an extra $100 ignorance fee to your bill. If you decide to pay someone to do this, I'd expect a bill anywhere from $150 to $400. If you want to consider doing this yourself, here's a video to walk you through it:

Sent from my SM-G986U using Tapatalk

Reactions: JCarrithers

·
Registered
2019 Rebel 300A/2020 CB500F A
35 Posts