Hello from a complete newbie :) - Australia - Honda CBR500R Forum : CB500F and CB500X Forums
 10Likes
  • 1 Post By Pookie
  • 2 Post By OldRocker
  • 1 Post By motohonace
  • 1 Post By ExTex
  • 1 Post By airhead83
  • 1 Post By Blackfin
  • 2 Post By OldRocker
  • 1 Post By tothezenith

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-25-2019, 05:19 AM Thread Starter

Hello from a complete newbie :) - Australia

Hi everyone,

I have just bought my first ever bike (Honda CBR500RA (ABS)) yesterday.

I live in Australia. I am 52 years old (an old man now).

My step-son (22yrs) got his first bike last week (Kawasaki Ninja 300 (ABS)) and he thought it would be nice for us both to go riding...so I agreed It is a nice gesture for a son to suggest this with their step-dad

Anyway, so today I went and bought a bunch of gear (AU$1000+) on Helmet, Jacket, Pants, Gloves. I have work boots that be ok I think.

I haven't had the courage to ride my bike yet, quite nervous. I did the mandatory learners course a few weeks ago and it was fun. But it's in a controlled environment. My step-son thinks I am a chicken...LOL

So I am watching youtube clips on riding skills and hoping to overcome my fear of corners...which is weird because I have spent 30 years building and driving fast cars...hmmm

One thing I noticed is that my bike has solid mirrors that do not swivel inwards like my step-sons, and he has some mirror extenders that make his mirrors higher so he can see over his shoulders better. That would be good for me because I am quite tall.

Anyway, I am looking forward to chatting with other people here and getting out of my driveway soon

Cheers

Pookie (Australia)

airhead83 likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-25-2019, 09:19 AM

Welcome to the madhouse Pookie.

Just start by riding round the block until you feel confident. Then a gentle trip around some country roads and don't try to be a boy racer out and about with your step son.