CB500X or naked bike? - Honda CBR500R Forum : CB500F and CB500X Forums
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Leisure Time Larry
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Unread 04-12-2019, 05:19 PM Thread Starter

CB500X or naked bike?

I hope to be purchasing a new bike this summer....to replace my Rebel 300. One of the reasons for replacement is the rebel 300 isn't what I'm looking for. I'm a newbie, and just started riding last fall. The Rebel 300 got all these great reviews saying it's a great 1st bike. And it HAS been a good 1st bike for me, but it's time to move on.

This leads me to ask "What do I want to do?" "What kind of riding will (or want) I be doing?" Even before I bought the Rebel, I thought I wanted a cruiser. But this is clearly not the case. (I thought I would sell the rebel and move up to a Honda Shadow, but that's off the table now...I don't want a cruiser)

I'm looking at a few things 1) riding around my small town in the midwest. (40k population) 2) taking day trips, mostly involving back roads....the interstate is not for me) 3) I've become interested in motorcycle camping. So being able to have bags and such lashed to the back is important. I don't think I'll go hard cases...just bags should do. 4) A bit of traveling by motorcycle. I have friends in neighboring states and I'd like to take the bike to visit them.

I had previously been considering the CB500F and the Yamaha mt07. Both good bikes. But now I'm considering the CB500X instead of the F. Although the X is classified as an adventure bike, I see a lot of people referring to it as an 'everything' bike. Adventure, day tripper, long distance bike...a little bit of everything. There seems to be a lot of youtube videos that are extremely positive about the X.