Honda CBR 500 Riders Forum banner

Help! CB500F 2013 vs 2016 annoying twitch or on/off effect ?

8K views 21 replies 13 participants last post by  TheSilentMan 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello everyone,

I'm new to the forum. First of all I apologize for any error or misuse of words, I am not a native English speaker.

I just got a driving license and I will soon be a biker.
Last year I tried a CB650F. I was surprised with its agility, light weight and "silence". It gave me an overall "smooth" feeling.
However I will never need all that power. I am a low-profile driver, I never go full throttle, I care about energy/fuel/costs saving and I could definitely enjoy a smaller -yet similiar- motorcycle.

So I am about to purchase a brand new CB500F: the bike, originally released in 2013, was renewed by Honda in 2016, so the 2017 model should only bear differences in colour choice (at least here in Europe).

Sadly no test rides are available at the moment for the CB500F and I am afraid to buy without a test ride.

Today I tried a previously owned 2013 model CB500F, bought in 2015, used for just 4000 miles / 6000 km and now up for sale.
Very comfortable, nice feeling, close to the CB650F, but I noticed a huge lack:

when starting and when switching gear, I could feel an annoying twitch, which gave me a feeling of mechanical "play" (I hope it's the right word), a "loose" feeling. This happened handling the accelerator very gently.
It never happened to me with the CB650F (or with an old CBF 600).

The owner called it "on/off effect" and said it's typical of several 2-cylinder bikes. It didn't feel typical at all to me, it was definitely annoying and turned me off (to the point that I fear something similiar on the 2016 model). I don't even know if "on/off effect" is the right term, but I found some 2013 CB500F reviews speaking of such lack.
However I can't believe Honda releases on the market a great bike with such an annoying issue and no one complains.