Honda CBR 500 Riders Forum banner

First "big bike" ?

6K views 26 replies 12 participants last post by  Arwen 
#1 ·
Hi everyone, just joined this forum as I my local Honda dealer has just taken in a new CB500F (in the lovely orange) as a demo bike. And to my surprise I really like the look and feel of it. I've not taken it out for a test ride yet, as I don't have my full licence, and they are waiting until March to register it as a demo (plate change time).
So I'd like to get some real life info on it and if you lot have any other suggestions, feel free to chip in!

I've been riding around on my excellent little MSX 125 for the past two years, and will be keeping this alongside any bigger bike I get. The MSX is ideal for my short 7 mile each way commute across the city. However it is not really idea for going further afield and for weekends away.
What I am looking for in a bigger bike is the ability to fit and carry a decent amount of luggage for when I do go away, and to have (or be able to have) a screen for some wind protection on faster roads.
So, is luggage relatively easy to attach to these bikes? I'd probably just go for soft panniers, tank bag and a top box.
Does the bike feel much different while loaded up with luggage?
How is the wind protection with a screen fitted?
The LED headlight on the newer versions looks small, how does it perform in real life situations?
And also, cause I'm sure I'll do something stupid like dropping it on the drive way, can you get good looking crash bars/bobbins that actually will protect from "silly drops"?

I prefer naked looking bikes, and as I am rather short in the leg, lower bikes where the engine weight is more of less under me are ideal. I'm also not a great lover of speed. So getting a bigger bike purely for more HP and top end speed is not really my thing. So long as it can cruise at 70mph with ease I'll be fine.